wordjunkies

from one junkie to another!

August 9, 2009 August 9, 2009

Filed under: Farmer's Markets — Annie Maier @ 3:33 am

Hello everyone from the Tuesday night critique group. I was determined to get this done before our next meeting – so as not to be a blog slacker. As you promised, setting up wasn’t as difficult as I anticipated, so thanks Jerry and Russ for your encouragement.  Sitting out on the porch tonight, listening to the myriad bugs and frogs chirping and clicking and croaking their happy (lusty!) summer songs – grateful for their music. Also for words and friends and farmer’s markets. Met a farmer today – Kenny Baxter from Cherrydale. Hello Kenny! A real farmer’s farmer – large, weather beaten, few words but plenty of heart. Bought heirloom tomatoes, cukes and a watermelon. (Peaches from Fat Boys). Soaked up his kindness. Makes me sad, what is happening to farmers today. Did you see “Food, Inc.”? Agrobusiness at its worst. If you don’t want to see the movie – read “Fast Food Nation.” Less apocolyptic (marginally), but with the same message – stop eating JUNK! Feed your body as you would a baby’s, with carefully chosen, lovingly prepared, healthy food grown by men and women named Kenny with farms close to home. There’s a new Tuesday evening market in Blakeney, heading south down 521. I wasn’t expecting much, as it’s just getting started – but was blown away by the quality and variety. Not just veggies and fruit, but also local pork, buffalo and even ostrach. Don’t think I’ll be trying that, though – not yet. Surpringly, no local chicken. I guess that’s easy enough to find. Anyway, we even saw a chef or two out and about stocking up. The hit of the day (for me) was Swiss chard picked that morning. Brought it home, cleaned it twice and sauted it up with some pepper, garlic and salt – then tossed it with fresh tomatoes and pasta. Mmm, mmm. (Is this what people blog about? Someone said, don’t just write about your day, but who else’s day can I write about? And if a farmer named Kenny doesn’t warrant a shout, who does?) So, if you haven’t been to the Charlotte Regional Farmer’s Market this season – go tomorrow! Look for Kenny and tell him Annie says “hey”! And ask him for some of those ugly purple tomatoes – they’re the best!

 

6 Responses to “August 9, 2009”

  1. Pat Donovan Says:

    hi Annie,
    I had no idea you were a fellow food snob – well, you know. I think my Kenny may be the same. I have been getting my maters from a farmer named Kenny for years. He always throws in ‘extries’ and a story or two. I’ve done a couple of columns about organic farmers and/or local small farmers and have become a zealot about out food supplies. Someday soon, I’ll get the blog going. I’m impressed with Russ’s blog. I followed all his links.

  2. Hi Annie,
    Loved your blog post and Food, Inc. On Saturday, our farmer’s market had chicken, but no eggs. My husband grilled the chicken this evening. Yummy. The okra was good…..for okra 😉 The farmer said to grill it and it was pretty tasty. See you soon.

  3. Oot Says:

    Wordjunkie? You know my blog is glowtapejunkie, right?

    HIIII!

    😀

  4. 2wordjunkies Says:

    Hey Russ! This is a little strange! But I’m adaptable. I hope you’ve been busy with good things – fun things. Glad to hear Simeon is ready to head out – can’t wait to hear about their trip!

  5. Russ Says:

    Hi Annie,

    Welcome to the world of blogging. This looks great. B and I have been extremely busy the past few weeks. I will have to blog about it. Simeon and his family are finally on thier way from Conneticutt to New York in a “Conestoga Wagon”

    Russ


Thoughts? Questions? Comments? All are welcome!

